Minutes WLHO-3.29.21 - WLHO- Westlake Homeowners Association

Go to content

Main menu:

Minutes WLHO-3.29.21


Minutes of the
2021 Annual Meeting of the
Westlake Homeowners Association
held by telephone
March 29, 2021 at 6:30 p.m.

President Fritz Gerwe called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. and introduced the other members of the Association’s board of directors:  Chris Heuer (Secretary), Rolland Royce (Treasurer) and Lev Volod (Website).  Other residents on the call included the Barbours, Meekers, Remingtons, Evers, Gellers, Kim Hirsch, Puja Bhutani, and Bill Scharwatt.

The minutes of the 2020 annual meeting are available on the Westlake HOA website.

Rolland stated that the notice of the annual meeting met the requirements of the CCRS, and summarized proxies that were signed and submitted:  84 received, 83 of which authorized any board member to vote the homeowner’s share.  One proxy nominated 2 residents for board positions, both of which have declined to serve.  Bill Scharwatt, previous board member, nominated himself for board consideration.  

Fritz provided an overview of the Association’s operations over the past year.  He described the Association’s actions, including continued participation with the Oswego Lake Watershed Council and the City of Lake Oswego for the remediation of Tract A as an oak woodland.  Fritz also noted 1) improved landscaping at the Westlake and Parke monuments; 2) enhanced management of the open space irrigation system which improved coverage while reducing water volume and cost; 3) replacement of ProGrass with Buel’s which improved landscape techniques and service at less than half the cost.  Fritz recognized the efforts of resident Tom Berridgein coordinating open space management, and the years of service by the current board members.  

Rolland summarized financial results for the 2020 calendar year and an overview of the 2021 budget, noting improved collection of late dues, reduced costs of water and landscaping services, maintenance of liability insurance thru State Farm, and the annual flag services provided by resident Karl Wardrop.  Responding to a homeowner question, Rolland said that 15 homeowners had not paid 2021 dues at this time.

Without dissent, the board terms of Chris Heuer and Rolland Royce were extended for two years, and Bill Scharwatt was elected to the board for a two-year term. The terms of Fritz Gerwe and Lev Volod will extend until the 2022 annual meeting

Questions on the following issues were raised by various homeowners:
The asphalt path on the west side of Westlake Dr extending north of Amberwood Circle
Pruning of trees on the east side of Westlake to minimize potential risk of falling limbs
The damaged fence on the south side of Tract A
Parking on streets which presents fire or safety risks
Painting of exterior brick not allowed by the CCRs
Invasive plants on the path between Westfield and Edenberry
Alert that some water bills from the City may have been subject to hacking

The board said they would follow up on these questions with the appropriate parties.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Back to content | Back to main menu